The Council consists of nine elected Members. Elections to the Town Council are held every four years. Any vacancies that occur during the four years, known as ‘casual vacancies’, are filled by another election or by co-option of a new Member.

The Full Town Council meets on the third Monday of every month (except December when the Council meets on the second Monday). All meetings are held at The Town Hall in Berkeley, starting at 7.00pm and are open to the public. There is a Planning & Finance Committee that meets at the Town Hall on the second Tuesday of every month, starting at 7.00pm.

The Council is led by a Chairman, Cllr Peter Hall, a new Chairman/Mayor is elected in May each year. 

The day to day Council business is managed by the Town Clerk – Justine Hopkins.

Berkeley Town Council is responsible for the following facilities in and around the town of Berkeley: